Defining new standards in video analysis

Face recognition, character recognition and more

icon_klOptical Character Recognition

Higher efficiency through automation

In the logistics domain, in the areas of transportation and storage, for the inspection of goods and materials, etc., numbers, codes and special symbols play a major role. These are often not machine readable, but are simply printed on panels or directly onto the surface of containers or goods, which requires they be optically recognized, often under difficult conditions. The automatic recognition of characters, even outside of controlled environments, can therefore lead to a dramatic increase in efficiency in process control, inspection, inventory management, etc.

Videmo develops specialized algorithms and software components for the recognition of characters in various domains. This includes the transportation and logistics domain, where train and wagon numbers are captured, the shipping domain, where containers and goods are being inventoried, or the domain of the inspection of technical material. Videmo's character recognition works quickly and reliably, without requiring specialized sensors. Recognized characters include numbers, letters, custom patterns or combinations thereof, special domain-specific symbols, as well as barcodes of various forms. This is done on static or moving objects, using single images or video.

Intelligent logistics

Videmo's character recognition is used for the recognition of numbers and codes for logistics. Trains, wagons, trucks carrying containers, as well as cars and other vehicles are analyzed in movement, as they are passing by. The recognition works reliably outdoors and can detect a wide range of sign types.

Properties of the number recognition

  • In-passage recognition, even at high-speeds
  • Video or image logs of the passages and recognized signs on demand
  • Day & night operation with appropriate lighting
  • Unclean signs, rain, snow, etc. are tolerated
  • Fusion of results from several cameras

Supported sign types

  • UIC-Numbers on trains and railway wagons
  • Container codes
  • License plates on cars and trucks
  • Length-over-Buffer markings on railway wagons
  • Dangerous goods signs

Further sign types are possible on demand.
For more information, please visit also the website of our partners ASE GmbH.

Shipping, Inventorisation, Transport, Storage

Videmo's technology can be used for the recognition of characters on any kind of object and in various forms. Regardless if they are markings on pipes or assembly parts, numbers on containers, barcodes on boxes, etc., the possibilities are limitless. Even for irregularly printed character strings, rounded surfaces or when the sign's location is not standardized (for example on the various surfaces of a container), the recognition can be achieved through a skillful combination of cameras or the use of additional image processing functions.

Properties and functions

  • Recognition of static or moving objects
  • Use of single images or video
  • Adaptation to spezific constraints, such as lighting or sensor setup
  • Video or image logging of recognized signs
  • Detailed output of missing (for example occluded) characters
  • Recognition of numbers, letters, bar codes, application-specific symbols, etc.

Lösungen, die überzeugen

Gesichtserkennung, Zeichenerkennung und vieles mehr

icon_dm Optische Zeichenerkennung

nf

Mehr Effizienz durch Automatisierung

In der Transport- und Logistikbranche, bei der Lagerung von Gütern, bei der Inspektion von Geräten, usw. spielen Zahlen, Codes oder spezielle Zeichen eine große Rolle. Diese sind aber oft nicht elektronisch ablesbar, sondern werden auf Tafeln oder direkt auf dem Transportgut aufgedruckt, und müssen optisch gelesen werden, was häufig nur unter schwierigen Bedingungen möglich ist. Eine automatische Erfassung von Zeichen, auch außerhalb von kontrollierten Umgebungen, kann daher zu einer großen Effizienzsteigerung führen, für Prozesskontroll-, Inspektions- oder Protokollierungszwecke.

Videmo entwickelt speziell angepasste Verfahren und Softwarekomponenten für die Erkennung von Zeichen in den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen. Sei es in der Transport- und Logistikbranche, wo Zug- und Wagonnummern erfasst werden, bei der Verladung, wo Behälter oder Güter inventarisiert werden, oder bei der Inspektion von technischen Anlagen. Videmos Zeichenerkennung arbeitet schnell und zuverlässig, ganz ohne spezielle Sensorik. Erkannt werden Zahlen, Buchstaben, definierte Muster oder Kombinationen hiervon, spezielle aufgabenspezifische Zeichen, sowie auch Strichcodes unterschiedlichster Ausprägung, statisch oder in Bewegung, auf Einzelbildern oder in Videoströmen.

Intelligente Logistik

Videmos Zeichenerkennung wird für die Erfassung von Nummern und Codes im Logistikbereich eingesetzt. Dabei werden vorbeifahrende Züge, mit Containern beladene LKW oder PKW analysiert. Die Erkennung funktioniert im Außenbereich mit handelsüblichen Videokameras und kann eine Reihe von Zeichentypen zuverlässig erkennen.

Eigenschaften der Nummernerkennung

  • Erkennung im Vorbeifahren, auch bei hohen Geschwindigkeiten
  • Auf Wunsch Video- oder Bildprotokolle der Durchfahrten und der erkannten Zeichen
  • Tag-/Nachtbetrieb mit entsprechender Beleuchtung möglich
  • Verschmutzte Zeichen, Regen, Schnee, etc. werden toleriert
  • Fusion von Ergebnissen aus mehreren Kameras

Unterstützte Zeichentypen

  • UIC-Nummern auf Zügen und Eisenbahnwagons
  • Containernummern
  • KFZ-Kennzeichen von LKW oder PKW
  • Länge-über-Puffer Kennzeichnungen auf Eisenbahnwagons
  • Gefahrguttafeln

Weitere Zeichentypen sind auf Anfrage möglich. Besuchen sie hierzu auch die Webseite unseres Partners ASE GmbH.

Verladung, Inventarisierung, Transport, Lagerung

Videmos Zeichenerkennung kann für die Erkennung auf beliebigen Objekten und in den unter­schiedlichsten Formen genutzt werden. Ob Kennzeichnungen auf Rohren oder Werkstücken, Nummern auf Transportcontainern, Barcodes auf Behältern, usw., die Möglichkeiten sind unbegrenzt. Selbst bei ungleichmäßig aufgetragenen Zeichen­ketten, gewölbten Oberflächen oder bei Fehlen eines standardisierten Aufbringungsorts (z.B. an den verschiedenen Flächen eines Behälters) kann durch geschickte Kombination von Kameras oder dem Einsatz von zusätzlichen Bildverarbeitungsverfahren eine Ablesung erfolgen.

Eigenschaften und Funktionen

  • Erkennung bewegter oder statischer Objekte
  • Nutzung von Einzelbildern oder Video
  • Anpassung an spezifische Randbedingungen wie z.B. Beleuchtung oder Anbringung
  • Auf Wunsch Video- oder Bildprotokolle der erkannten Zeichen
  • Detaillierte Ausgabe fehlender (z.B. verdeckter) Zeichen
  • Erkennung von Zahlen, Buchstaben, Strichcodes, anwendungsspezifischen Zeichen, usw.